US Inspection Services

Alabama
Randy Hamann, Chief Apiary Inspector
Alabama Department of Agriculture & Industries, Apiary Protection Unit
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL 36107-1123
334-850-7758
randy.hamann@agi.alabama.gov
http://agi.alabama.gov/divisions/plant-health/apiary-protection-unit

Alabama Laws and Regulations


Alaska
Mia Kirk, Development Specialist
Alaska Division of Agriculture, Inspection & Regulatory Program
1800 Glenn Highway, Suite 12
Palmer, AK 99645
907-761-3853
Mia.Kirk@alaska.gov
http://dnr.alaska.gov/ag/ag_is.htm
http://dnr.alaska.gov/ag/Inspection/BeeRegistrationCardApril2012.pdf

Alaska Laws and Regulations


Arizona
Jack Peterson, Associate Director
Arizona Department of Agriculture, Environmental Sciences
1688 West Adams Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-542-3575
jpeterson@azda.gov
https://agriculture.az.gov/bees
https://agriculture.az.gov/sites/default/files/Beeslandownerpermission_0_0.pdf

Arizona Laws and Regulations


Arkansas
Mark Stoll, Apiary Manager
Arkansas State Plant Board, Apiary Section
P.O. Box 1069
Little Rock, AR 72203
501-225-1598
Mark.stoll@aspb.ar.gov
http://plantboard.arkansas.gov/PlantIndustry/Apiary/Pages/default.aspx

Arkansas Laws and Regulations


California
Courtney Albrecht, Specialist
California Department of Food and Agriculture, California State Apiary Board
1220 N Street, Room A-370
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-654-0317
Courtney.Albrecht@cdfa.ca.gov
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/plant/pollinators/apiaryboard.html
https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/plant/pollinators/inspections.html

California Laws and Regulations


Colorado
Laura Pottorff, Apiary Program Coordinator
Colorado State Department of Agriculture, Division of Plant Industry
305 Interlocken Parkway
Broomfield, CO 80021
303-869-9070
laura.pottorff@state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/agplants/apiary-program-page

Colorado Laws and Regulations


Connecticut
Kirby Stafford III, State Entomologist
Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, Inspection and Registrations
P.O. Box 1106
New Haven, CT 06504-1106
203-974-8485
Kirby.Stafford@ct.gov
http://www.ct.gov/caes/cwp/view.asp?a=2818&q=376964#Beekeeper

Connecticut Laws and Regulations


Delaware
Robert Mitchell, State Apiarist
Delaware Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Section
2320 South DuPont Highway
Dover, DE 19901
302-698-4585
Robert.Mitchell@state.de.us
http://dda.delaware.gov/plantind/honeybee.shtml

Delaware Laws and Regulations


Florida
David Westervelt, Chief Apiary Inspector
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Bureau of Plant & Apiary Inspection
The Doyle Conner Building
1911 SW 34 St.
Gainesville, FL 32608-1201
352-395-4633
David.Westervelt@FreshFromFlorida.com
http://www.freshfromflorida.com/Divisions-Offices/Plant-Industry/Bureaus-and-Services/Bureau-of-Plant-and-Apiary-Inspection/Apiary-Inspection

Florida Laws and Regulations


Georgia
David Williams, Apiary and Export Certification Programs
Georgia Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection
P.O. Box 114
Tifton, GA 31793
229-386-3464
david.williams@agr.georgia.gov
http://agr.georgia.gov/apiary-program.aspx

Georgia Laws and Regulations


Hawaii
Lauren Rusert, Apiary Section Chief
Hawaii Department of Agriculture, Hawaii Apiary Program
16 East Lanikaula Street
Hilo, HI 96720
808-352-3010
lauren.m.rusert@hawaii.gov
http://hdoa.hawaii.gov/pi/ppc/apiary-program-hawaii-beekeepers-registry/

Hawaii Laws and Regulations


Idaho
Nick Deeds, Ag Program Specialist
Idaho Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Feeds and Plant Services
P.O. Box 790
Boise, ID 83701-0790
208-332-8620
nick.deeds@agri.idaho.gov
http://www.agri.idaho.gov/AGRI/Categories/PlantsInsects/Bees/indexapiary.php

Idaho Laws and Regulations


Illinois
Steve Chard, Apiary Inspection Supervisor
Illinois Dept. of Agriculture, Division of Natural Resources
P.O. BOX 19281
Springfield, IL 62794-9281
217-782-6297
https://www.agr.state.il.us/bees-apiaries

Illinois Laws and Regulations


Indiana
Kathleen M. Prough, Chief Apiary Inspector
Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Division of Entomology and Plant Pathology
402 West Washington Street, Room W-290
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739
317-232-4123
kprough@dnr.IN.gov
http://www.in.gov/dnr/entomolo/2893.htm

Indiana Laws and Regulations


Iowa
Andrew Joseph, State Apiarist
Iowa Department of Agriculture, Entomology and Plant Science Bureau
Iowa Laboratory Facility
2230 South Ankeny Blvd.
Ankeny, IA 50023
515-725-1470
andrew.joseph@IowaAgriculture.gov
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/AgDiversification/apiary.asp

Iowa Laws and Regulations


Kansas
Jeff Vogel, Program Manager
Kansas Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection and Weed Control
1320 Research Park Drive
Manhattan, KS 66502
785-564-6700
jeff.vogel@ks.gof
https://agriculture.ks.gov/kda-services/export-inspection

Kansas Laws and Regulations


Kentucky
Tammy Potter, State Apiarist
Kentucky Department of Agriculture, Office of the State Veterinarian
109 Corporate Drive
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Phone 502-229-2950
Tammy.Potter@ky.gov
http://www.kyagr.com/statevet/honeybees.html

Kentucky Laws and Regulations


Louisiana
Ansel Rankins, Sr., State Entomologist
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Horticulture & Quarantine Programs
5825 Florida Blvd., Suite 3002
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
225-952-8100
horticulture@ldaf.state.la.us
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us/consumers/horticulture-programs/apiary-programs/

Louisiana Laws and Regulations


Maine
Jennifer Lund, State Apiarist
Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry, Apiary Program
28 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
207-287-3891
jennifer.lund@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/DACF/php/apiary/index.shtml

Maine Laws and Regulations


Maryland
Cybil Preston, State Apiarist
Maryland Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection and Weed Management Section
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401
410-841-5920
cybil.preston@maryland.gov
http://mda.maryland.gov/plants-pests/pages/apiary_inspection.aspx

Maryland Laws and Regulations


Massachusetts
Kim Skyrm, Chief Apiary Inspector
Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources, Apiary Programs
101 University Dr., Suite C-4
Amherst, MA 01002
413-548-1905
Kim.Skyrm@state.ma.us
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/agr/farm-products/apiary/

Massachusetts Laws and Regulations


Michigan
Michael Hansen, State Apiarist
Michigan Department of Agriculture, Pesticide & Plant Pest Management Division
4032 M 139, Building 116
St. Joseph, MI 49085
616-428-2575
hansenmg@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/mdard/0,4610,7-125-2390—,00.html

Michigan Laws and Regulations


Minnesota
Blane White, Apiary Program
Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection Division
325 Robert Street N.
St. Paul, MN 55155-2538
651-201-6578
blane.white@state.mn.us
https://www.mda.state.mn.us/licensing/licensetypes/apiaryprogram.aspx

Minnesota Laws and Regulations


Mississippi
Kenneth Calcote, Director
Mississippi Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Plant Industry
P.O. Box 5207
Mississippi State, MS 39762
662-325-8488
kenneth@mdac.state.ms.us
https://www.mdac.ms.gov/bureaus-departments/plant-industry/honeybee-program/

Mississippi Laws and Regulations


Missouri
Collin Wamsley, State Entomologist
Missouri Department of Agriculture, Plant Pest Control Program
P.O. Box 630
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-751 5505
collin.wamsley@mda.mo.gov
http://agriculture.mo.gov/plants/pests/

Missouri Laws and Regulations


Montana
Cam Lay, Natural Resource Program Manager
Montana Department of Agriculture, Apiary Program
302 N. Roberts
Helena, MT 59620
406-444-3790
CLay2@mt.gov
https://agr.mt.gov/Bees

Montana Laws and Regulations


Nebraska
Julie van Meter, State Entomologist
Nebraska Department of Agriculture, Apiary Inspection Program
P.O. Box 94756
Lincoln, NE 68509-4756
402-471-2351
julie.vanmeter@nebraska.gov
http://www.nda.nebraska.gov/plant/entomology/bee1.html

Nebraska Laws and Regulations


Nevada
Jeff Knight, State Entomologist
Nevada Department of Agriculture, Plant Industry -Entomology
405 South 21st Street
Sparks, NV 89431
775-353-3767
jknight@agri.nv.gov
http://agri.nv.gov/Plant/Entomology/Entomology_Home/

Nevada Laws and Regulations


New Hampshire
Piera Siegert, State Entomologist
New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Division of Plant Industry
State Lab Bldg., 6 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
603-271-2561
piera.siegert@agr.nh.gov
http://www.agriculture.nh.gov/divisions/plant-industry/apiary-beekeeping.htm

New Hampshire Laws and Regulations


New Jersey
Tim Schuler, State Apiarist
New Jersey Department of Agriculture, Division of Plant Industry
P.O. Box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625-0330
609-406-6939
tim.schuler@ag.state.nj.us
http://www.state.nj.us/agriculture/divisions/pi/prog/beeinspection.html

New Jersey Laws and Regulations


New Mexico
Brad Lewis, Assistant Director
New Mexico Department of Agriculture, Entomology & Nursery Industries
MSC 3AQ, Box 30005
Las Cruces, NM 88003
575-646-3207
bcent@nmda.nmsu.edu
http://www.nmda.nmsu.edu/entomology-nursery/apiary/

New Mexico Laws and Regulations


New York
Paul Cappy, Apiculturist
New York Department of Agriculture & Markets, Division of Plant Industry
10 B Airline Drive
Albany, NY 12235
518-457 2087
paul.cappy@agriculture.ny.gov
https://www.agriculture.ny.gov/PI/apiary_inspection.html

New York Laws and Regulations


North Carolina
Don Hopkins, Apiary Inspection Supervisor
North Carolina Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection Section
1060 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1060
919-218-3310
don.hopkins@ncagr.gov
http://www.ncagr.gov/plantindustry/Plant/apiary/index.htm

North Carolina Laws and Regulations


North Dakota
Samantha Brunner, State Apiary Inspector
North Dakota Department of Agriculture, Apiary Program
600 E. Boulevard Ave, Department 602
Bismarck, ND 58505-0020
701-328-4765
sbrunner@nd.gov
https://www.nd.gov/ndda/program/apiary-program-honey-bees

North Dakota Laws and Regulations


Ohio
Barbara Bloetscher, State Inspector
Ohio Department of Agriculture, Division of Plant Health
8995 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-3399
614-728 6373
apiary@agri.ohio.gov
http://www.ohioagriculture.gov/divs/plant/apiary/apiary.aspx

Ohio Laws and Regulations


Oklahoma
Jayce Prock, Environmental Programs Administrator
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, & Forestry, Consumer Protection Services
P.O. Box 528804
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804
405-522-5974
jayce.prock@ag.ok.gov
http://www.oda.state.ok.us/cps-bees.htm

Oklahoma Laws and Regulations


Oregon
Clinton Burfitt, Program Manager
Oregon Department of Agriculture, Insect Pest Prevention and Management
Agriculture Building, 635 Capitol Street, NE.
Salem, OR 97310
503-986-4663
cburfitt@oda.state.or.us
https://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/IPPM/InsectsSpiders/Pages/BeesApiaries.aspx

Oregon Laws and Regulations


Pennsylvania
Karen Roccasecca, State Apiarist
Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, Apiary and Pollinator Services
2301 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17110
717-346-9567
kroccasecc@pa.gov
http://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Protect/PlantIndustry/Apiary/Pages/default.aspx

Pennsylvania Laws and Regulations


Rhode Island
James Lawson, State Apiary Inspector
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management, Division of Agriculture, Plant Industry
235 Promenad Street, Room 370
Providence, RI 02908
401-222-2781, ext. 4519
James.lawson@dem.ri.gov
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/agriculture/apiary.php

Rhode Island Laws and Regulations


South Carolina
Brad Cavin, State Apiarist
Clemson University, Department of Plant Industry
511 Westinghouse Road
Pendleton, SC 29670
864-680-8223
scavin@clemson.edu
http://www.clemson.edu/public/regulatory/plant_industry/pest_nursery_programs/honeybee.html

South Carolina Laws and Regulations


South Dakota
Bob Reiners, Apiary Specialist
South Dakota Department of Agriculture, Agronomy Services
Foss Building
523 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3182
605-773-3796
bob.reiners@state.sd.us
https://sdda.sd.gov/ag-services/beekeeping-apiary-resources/

South Dakota Laws and Regulations


Tennessee
Michael Studer, State Apiarist
Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Ellington Agricultural Center
Box 40627, Melrose Station
Nashville, TN 37204
615-837-5342
mike.studer@tn.gov
https://www.tn.gov/agriculture/topic/ag-businesses-bees

Tennessee Laws and Regulations


Texas
Mark Dykes, Chief Apiary Inspector
Texas A & M University, Texas Apiary Inspection Service
2475 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-2475
979-845-9714
mdykes@tamu.edu
txbeeinspection.tamu.edu

Texas Laws and Regulations


Utah
Kris Watson, State Entomologist
Utah State Department of Agriculture, Plants & Pests
350 N. Redwood Rd.
P.O. Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500
801-538-7184
UDAF-Insects@utah.gov
http://www.ag.utah.gov/plants-pests/beekeeping.html

Utah Laws and Regulations


Vermont
Henry Marckres, Consumer Protection Chief
Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food Safety & Consumer Protection
100 State Street Rm 342
Montpelier, VT 05620-3206
802-828-2426
henry.marckres@vermont.gov
http://agriculture.vermont.gov/food_safety_consumer_protection/apiary

Vermont Laws and Regulations


Virginia
Keith Tignor, State Apiarist
Virginia State Department of Agriculture, Office of Plant & Pest Services
P.O. Box 1163
Richmond, VA 23218
804-786-3515
keith.tignor@vdacs.virginia.gov
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/plant-industry-services-beekeeping-apiary-inspection.shtml

Virginia Laws and Regulations


Washington
Leah Doyle, Program Specialist
Washington Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection Division
1111 Washington Street SE
P.O. Box 42560
Olympia, WA 98504-2560
360-902-2070
ldoyle@agr.wa.gov
http://agr.wa.gov/plantsinsects/apiary/default.aspx

Washington Laws and Regulations


Washington, D.C.
Natasha Garcia Anderson, Fish and Wildlife Biologist
Department of Energy and the Environment, Fisheries and Wildlife Division
1200 First Street NE, 5th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
202-870-6004
natasha.garcia-anderson@dc.gov

https://doee.dc.gov/service/beekeeping-district

Washington, D.C. Laws and Regulations


West Virginia
Wade Stiltner, State Apiarist
West Virginia Department of Agriculture, Plant Industries Division
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305-0178
304-550-0589
wstiltner@ag.state.wv.us
http://www.agriculture.wv.gov/divisions/plantindustries/Pages/Apiary.aspx

West Virginia Laws and Regulations


Wisconsin
Elizabeth Meils, State Apiarist
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Apiary Inspections
P.O. Box 8911
2811 Agriculture Drive
Madison, WI 53708-8911
608-224-4572
elizabeth.meils@wisconsin.gov
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/ApiaryProgram.aspx

Wisconsin Laws and Regulations


Wyoming
Henry R. Uhden, Manager
Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Plant Industry Program
2219 Carey Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307-777-6574
hank.uhden@wyo.gov
http://wyagric.state.wy.us/divisions/ts/sections-a-programs/plant-industry

Wyoming Laws and Regulations